U.N. members put Argentina, Oman and Rwanda on Security Council

AFP, October 29, 1993

UNITED NATIONS, Oct 29 (AFP) - The U.N. General Assembly voted Friday to give Argentina, Oman and Rwanda three of the Security Council's 10 non-permanent seats.

A second round of voting will be needed to decide between Guinea Bissau, Nigeria, the Czech Republic and Belarus for the remaining two seats that will open on December 31.

The new members will replace Venezuela, Hungary, Morocco, Cape Verde and Japan when they leave on December 31.

A two-thirds vote of the 184-

member assembly is needed to win a seat on the Security Council, where most of the United Nations' most important decisions are made.

Oman won 174 votes, Argentina 169, Rwanda 153, the Czech Republic 113, Nigeria 99, Guinea-Bissau 82 and Belarus 62.

The council consists of five permanent members (Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States) and 10 non-permanent members, half of whom are replaced every year.

ras/dkb/em AFP AFP